Regular and external users on Business and higher accounts can use the Custom Field Management panel of folders, projects, and spaces. Account owners and admins on Business and higher accounts can access the account-wide custom fields management view in the Account Management section.
In Wrike, there are two levels of custom field management:
All users, except for collaborators, can open and use the Custom Field Management panel unless their access role restricts it.
Most users have the ability to create custom fields, so each folder, project, and space can have a lot of custom fields added to it. The Custom Field Management panel displays all custom fields available in a certain location and allows managing all of them and creating new ones.
From custom field management, you can:
Access custom field management from the folder/project/space menu:
The Custom Field Management panel shows the following information about each custom field:
You will see all custom fields that are:
*The project/folder/space where a field was added may be different from the project/folder/space where it is visible. For example, if a field is added on a parent folder/project, it may be visible on all of its subfolders/subprojects, but its source, in this case, is the parent.
Access custom field management from the Table view:
Or alternately click the gear icon and select "Manage custom fields."
Create a custom field
All users, except collaborators and external users, can create new custom fields.
Your custom field is created and added to the items you specified in step 5.
All users, except collaborators, can add custom fields to folders, projects, and spaces unless their access role restricts it.
Once a custom field is created, anyone shared on the field can reuse it in other folders, projects, and spaces.
Wrike Tip! 🔥To quickly add a custom field from subfolders, subprojects, and parent folders/projects: right-click a field and select “Add to this Folder (Project)."
All users, except collaborators and external users, can edit properties of custom fields.
The field properties pop-up appears, and you can edit your field’s name, type, where the field is applied, and whom it should be shared with. Click “Save” when you’re done to apply your changes.
To remove a custom field from a folder, project, or space:
Note: You can remove a custom field only if it was created from the current folder, project, or space or explicitly added to it via Table view or the custom field management panel. If the field is visible in a folder or project because it's inherited from its parent folder, project, or space, you won't see the option to remove it. Instead, you can remove the field from the parent item, hide it on the Table view, or edit the field properties to stop it from being displayed anywhere but the parent item.
On Business accounts, the account owner and all account admins can manage custom fields from the Account Management section. On Enterprise accounts, by default, only account owners have access to management of all account custom fields, but they can give account admins the permission to do that.
Account owners and admins can overview and manage all custom fields in the account from the Account Management section. There you'll see all custom fields, including the ones that are not shared with you, and you'll be able to:
You'll see the table with all custom fields in the account.
Apart from the Title column that contains the names of custom fields, the custom field table also shows the columns with the following field attributes:
You can hide or show columns in the table. To do that, click the gear icon in the upper-left corner of the table and uncheck or check the relevant columns' boxes.
You can also sort the fields in the table by any attribute. To do that, simply click on the title of any column, and the sorting order will change immediately. To reverse the order, click the column title one more time. Alternatively, click the drop-down in the upper-left corner and select the preferred sorting.
Use search to find a specific custom field. The search works within all columns so that you can look for a field by its title, the creator's name, the date of creation, etc. To use the search, click the "Quick search" area at the top and start typing in it.
Note: Keep in mind that changes that you make will affect all users who have access to the custom field. Additionally, editing a custom field may interrupt the work of filters, request forms, and automation rules that use that field.
Editing custom field properties doesn't affect the existing data in the field. Even if you change the field's type, the current field value stays the same until someone changes it.
On Business accounts, the account owner and all account admins can delete custom fields. On Enterprise accounts only account owners can delete custom fields by default, but they can give account admins the permission to do that.
Account owners and admins can completely delete any custom field along with its values from the account, including the fields that are not shared with them.
Important! Before deleting a custom field, make sure that it's no longer used in the account. Deleting a custom field will affect all users who have access to the field and may interrupt the work of filters, request forms, and automation rules that use that field.
You can also delete multiple custom fields at the same time. To do that:
Note: There is no way to restore the field from your account. If you need a deleted custom field restored, please contact Wrike's Customer Support Team.